India-Pakistan sign new visa agreement

India and Pakistan have signed a new visa agreement.

The new agreement signed by Sushilkumar Shinde, Home Minister of India and A Rehman Malik, Pakistan Interior Minister jointly operationalised the new visa agreement between the two countries. The Visa-on-Arrival will come into effect from 15 January 2013 and the Group Tourist Visa will come in force from 15 March 2013.

Both the government had signed a new visa agreement to facilitate travel for the national for both countries. Speaking on the occasion, Union Home Minister, Sushil Kumar Shinde said that the new visa agreement will facilitate easy movement of people across the two countries.The key features of the new visa agreement are as follows:

Visitor Visa: The new visitor visa will now allow five places to visit as against three places. In exceptional cases visitor visa for one year could be issued in the past, while now visa upto two years will be issued for persons above 65 years of age, national of one country married to national of other country.

Visa on Arrival: With effect from 15 January 2013, Visa on Arrival will be granted at Attari/Wagah check-post to persons more than 65 years of age for 45 days with single entry.

Business Visa: Exemption from police reporting for business visa will be granted to businessmen with an annual income above PKR 5 million or equivalent or annual turnover above PKR 30 million or equivalent.Group Tourist Visa: Group tourist visa for 30 days may be issued for travel in groups, with not less than 10 members and not more than 50 members in each group. The group tourist visa should be organised by approved tour operators and travel agents from 15 March 2013.

Entry and Exit: Entry and exit from different designated immigration check posts will be allowed, if indicated in the application. However, exit from Wagah/Attari on foot cannot be accepted unless the entry was also on foot via Wagah/Attari.

Krupa Vora
December 17′ 2012


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *